A cheerful front porch accessory

October 31, 2011 § 1 Comment

There was something about this house that caught my attention. I was on foot, chasing after my little bike riders when we all went flying past this house. The sidewalk we were on seemed really dark at this point because the trees were old and mature and had grown over the path creating a natural shade.

The kids were ahead of me screaming “weeeee” the way they always do when we go through a tunnel. As I passed through this dark “tunnel”, the light coming from the entry of this home made me jerk around to see what I had just missed.

It was light, cheery and quaint. And it was for sale!

No, we didn’t buy it or even make on offer…but I did take the opportunity to get a little closer and snap a few pictures. I had to get a shot of these adorable birdhouses.

I think this was such a cheerful way to dress up a front porch.  Two adorable birdhouses and an empty wire flower container. Furthermore, since red is opposite of blue on the color wheel, the birdhouses were in perfect contrast. I can’t say that it would cross my mind to put birdhouses on my front porch but now it seems like a fantastic idea.

Ironically, the following weekend we strolled past this house again and were lucky enough to be invited inside to view it. It was just as charming on the inside! You can see it here if you like.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to A cheerful front porch accessory

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A cheerful front porch accessory at design once.

meta

